©

Copyright is such a terrible thing when trying to review a video game on YouTube or post a Flipagram video on a friend’s Facebook wall for their birthday.

When thinking of copyright I thought of Authors and Music Artists, not bloggers. Before going into detail about copyright I wasn’t completely aware of the extent of it.
The transformation in copyright is huge when you think about it; I mean going from the notion of property related only to scarce resources, such as land, to copyrighting minuscule things such as the rights to a song or a quote.

After the lecture on copyright I was stuck with a quote by Lawrence Lessig that played on my mind – “Free cultures are cultures that leave a great deal open for others to build upon; unfree, or permission, cultures leave much less. Ours was a free culture. It is becoming much less so. “ This particular phrase left me wondering how much more we can throw a copyright symbol on before having nothing left to share and build upon.

  • t.r
One Comment Add yours

  1. emmapinfold says:

    This was a really enjoyable post to read. I enjoyed the simplicity of your language as it made the piece very fluent and easy to read. I would consider briefly discussing the matter of fair use, as I feel it too, rises some important ideas surrounding what is and is not fair in terms of copyright. For information on fair use, I found this source helpful: http://fairuse.stanford.edu/overview/fair-use/what-is-fair-use/ . Overall a very good post and I enjoyed your meme also.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

